Japanese symbols - Exploring the fascinating world of Hiragana, Katakana, and Kanji

  • Published on : 25/03/2024
  • by : Japan Experience

The Japanese language uses a complex writing system comprised of three main types of symbols: hiragana, katakana, and kanji. For beginners learning Japanese, these intricate characters can seem intimidating at first glance. However, understanding the role and usage of each type of symbol is key to mastering written Japanese and unlocking the door to this rich and fascinating language.

Latest Articles

Red spider lily: How to grow and care for this enchanting fall-blooming bulb

The red spider lily (Lycoris radiata) is a striking fall-blooming bulb known for its vivid red flowers that seem to appear magically on bare stalks.

Japan Visitor - manyoshu20195.jpg

The Manyoshu: Japan's oldest and most renowned poetry anthology

The Manyoshu, meaning "Collection of Ten Thousand Leaves", is the oldest existing anthology of Japanese poetry.

Japan Visitor - mask20192.jpg

Unmasking the Mystique and Allure of Traditional Japanese Masks

Masks have been an integral part of Japanese culture for centuries, dating back to at least the 6th century.

See All (368)