Sonic Train ソニック 九州

Sonic Train1

The Sonic Limited Express Train


Sonic Train From Hakata to Oita ソニック: JR Kyushu's Sonic is an express train running from Hakata Station in Fukuoka to Oita via Beppu.

There are two types of Sonic Express: the white model 885 and the blue model 883 (pictured right). The Sonic trains have a top speed of 130 kph.

Eiji Motooka

Along with a number of other trains in Kyushu, the Sonic Express was designed by Eiji Motooka. His other classic trains include the Yufuin no Mori, the Kawasemi-Yamasemi and the luxurious Seven Stars.

Sonic Train2

Sonic Express Train From Hakata (Fukuoka) to Oita Station in Oita Prefecture

@Japan All Over

Latest Articles

shinkansen 700s nozomi eco friendly green

Japan Rail Pass or Train Tickets: what to choose when traveling in Japan?

When traveling in Japan, if your itinerary takes you beyond Tokyo, for example into the Kansai (Kyoto & Osaka) region, a primordial question awaits: how to get around Japan and naviga

Golden week

Golden Week Travel Advice

Japan will celebrate Golden Week from April 29 to May 6, 2024, which comprises four national holidays: Showa Day on April 29, Constitutional Memorial Day on May 3

Train at Shin-Osaka Station

Midosuji Line Osaka: The key north-south subway route through central Osaka

The Midosuji Line is the oldest and one of the most important subway lines in Osaka, Japan.