Yokohama Subway 横浜市営地下鉄

  • Published on : 31/12/2014
  • by : Japan Experience
  • Rating :

Yokohama subway: read a guide to the Yokohama subway system which consists of the Blue Line and the Green Line running from Shonandai to Azamino and Nakayama to Hiyoshi.

The Yokohama Municipal Subway has three physical lines, though Lines 1 and 3 are operated together as the Blue Line running from Shonandai Station to Azamino Station, while Line 4 is the Green Line, running from Nakayama Station to Hiyoshi Station. There is no Line 2 (being a planned line that did not eventuate.)

Transfers between the Green and Blue lines are at Center Kita and Center Minami stations. The Blue Line connects with the Tokaido shinkansen at Shin-Yokohama Station and with the Tokaido/Yokosuka Line, Tokyu Toyoko Line and Keikyu Line at Yokohama Station in Nishi-ku.

The minimum fare is 210 yen (also 210 yen with an IC rechargeable card but progressively cheaper than a paper ticket as the distances get longer). A combined bus and subway one-day pass is available for 830 yen; subway-only or bus-only passes for slightly less.

The following is an overview of the Yokohama Subway Blue Line, the Yokohama Subway Green Line and the Minatomirai 21 Line.

Map of Yokohama Subway Network

© City of Yokohama

Green Line

Yokohama Municipal Subway Green Line runs 13km from Nakayama Station on the JR East Yokohama Line and Hiyoshi Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line.

The complete list of stations on the Yokohama Green Line is: Nakayama (JR East Yokohama Line), Kawawacho, Tsuzuki-Fureai-no-Oka, Center-Minami (Blue Line), Center-Kita (Blue Line), Kita-Yamata, Higashi-Yamata, Takata, Hiyoshi-Honcho and Hiyoshi (Meguro Line, Tokyu Toyoko Line).

The Green Line began operation in 2008. A complete journey from Nakayama to Hiyoshi takes about 20 minutes and costs 330 yen.

Yokohama Subway Sign

Yokohama Subway Sign

©Japan Visitor

Minatomirai 21 Line

The Minatomirai 21 Line (みなとみらい21線), operated by the Yokohama Minatomirai Railway Company, runs 5 stops underground from Yokohama Station to Motomachi-Chukagai for Yokohama Chinatown. The Minatomirai 21 Line runs in conjunction with the Tokyu Toyoko Line, with a direct service to and from Shibuya Station taking 33 minutes.

The complete list of stations on the Minatomirai 21 Line is Yokohama, Shin-Takashima, Minatomirai, Bashamichi, Nihon-odori and Motomachi-Chukagai.

The Minatomirai 21 Line opened in 2004.

Train arriving at Motomachi-Chukagai Station, Yokohama

Train arriving at Motomachi-Chukagai Station, Yokohama

©Japan Visitor

Explore Kamakura in one day

  • Included :

Latest Articles

Wakayama Electric Railway _ Tamadensha

Wakayama Electric Railway

Wakayama Electric Railway (Dentetsu) is a private railway that runs from Wakayama city to Kishi in Kinokawa.


Smartphone Apps for Your Japan Rail Travel

Check out a few of our favorite apps to use when traveling Japan by rail! Order your JR Pass today - available in 7-, 14-, and 21-day passes.

Train Conductor in Japan


If you want to optimize your time when taking the train in Japan, you should plan your routes well in advance (and ensure that you order your Japan Rail Pass prior to departing for Japan).

See All (124)


Rate the content

Your comment

Enter the characters shown in the image.
* Required fields